Lifecycle Mapping - Understanding and Designing PLM

Lifecycle Mapping - Understanding and Designing PLM

The design of information development in the product engineering process (PEP) must be regarded as an essential organizational task. It is not taken care of by the introduction of IT solutions. It must be designed in itself. This can only be achieved if companies begin to organize their evolved information development in the PDP in line with lean management thinking. With the lifecycle mapping of the Do(PLM)Con method, a tool similar to the value stream design now exists that enables the design of operational information development.

Lifecycle Mapping - Understanding and Designing PLM - shown by a practical example of requirements management

1. why information development must be designed in the PEP

The design of lean production systems and optimization of global supply chains to increase productivity is at the core of every corporate strategy today. The focus of optimization is increasingly turning to the product creation process, as the realization grows that its appropriate design is a central prerequisite for continuing to operate successfully on the market in the future.

Due to the drastic changes in product development, this is currently becoming more and more urgent. On the one hand, products are becoming more complex due to the integration of intelligent components and the increasing number of variants, and on the other hand, the number of activities to be carried out simultaneously in product development is increasing due to the shifting forward of tasks. Many of the activities that take place today in early development phases were carried out a few years ago later in development with physical prototypes. Where models used to be created using drawings on paper, today models are modeled in IT applications (e.g. CAx, digital factory, systems engineering, etc.). Currently, we are experiencing an almost explosive increase in the number of model-based applications used in PDP (see Figure 1).

Since all models created in the PDP are abstractions of the products to be developed, they have multiple redundancies. Because models are often created simultaneously over the course of the PDP, interactions arise between the models so that their information must be continuously reconciled.

Most players in the PEP are not aware of this. Often - when the resulting problems become too big - there is a call for new, even more powerful models, which then have to be handled additionally. As a result, the PEP becomes even more complex.

The model explosion in the product development process

Figure 1: The model explosion in the product development processThe current situation around PEP and PLM is comparable to the discussion in production management at the beginning of the 80's of the last century. Automation had become widely accepted. On this basis, the discussion about lean management could then develop. After many routine processes of the PEP have been successfully automated today through the successful introduction of PLM components, the conviction is also growing in the PLM discussion that a consistent design of the information development in the PEP will be a next step to the success of PLM.

2. the idea of lifecycle mapping

Lifecycle Mapping took its origin in discussions of experienced PLM solution architects. The use cases they looked at from various industries and companies showed that the operational interaction of product information had not been discussed in the past. For this reason, essential aspects are often not considered when planning PLM projects. This sometimes jeopardizes PLM projects because the common understanding of the supplier, the project team and the end users is not created.

Lifecycle Mapping makes it possible to analyze the operational information development in the PEP. The focus of the modeling is on the models of the PEP that actually live in the IT systems. To make modeling easy, Lifecycle Mapping relies on IT-neutral symbolism that is related to the mindset of value stream design.

Lifecycle maps (LIF maps) can be used to display maps of the PDP. These serve as a central communication and optimization tool in PLM projects and contribute significantly to "talking about the same thing".

3. create lifecycle maps

In the application, LIF maps are created of the current state and one or more future states to be developed. In PLM projects, it has proven suitable to develop the LIF map of the Current State together with all participants at the start of the project and to take the time to discuss it in detail. This creates a common understanding of what is happening in the PDP. In a further discussion, areas with potential for optimization can be drawn in the Current State LIF map. Once this is done, possible optimization scenarios are developed using Future States LIF maps.

Lifecycle map of a simple current state

Figure 2: Lifecycle map of a simple current stateThe procedure for lifecycle mapping is explained below using the example of a simple current state (Figure 2). The basis of the lifecycle map is the time axis. The milestones of the PDP that are essential for the observation are noted on it. In the next step, the living submodels are drawn into the LIF map as rectangles. Here it makes sense to concentrate on submodels of a product or a product family. The rectangles start at the time they are first initiated in the PEP. Their length across the timeline symbolizes their development over time. Strictly speaking, a submodel does not end because the data is retained beyond the product development process and even "finished" submodels are often modified at a later point in time. The rectangle in the lifecycle map therefore ends at the point in time when the work on the partial model is essentially complete. If it is necessary to represent the "continuing life" aspect, a smaller filled rectangle and/or a line continuing across the timeline is used. The smaller width represents the lower intensity of work on the sub-model (Figure 2, representation of modeling intensity). When analyzing LIF maps, it is important to define a focus in advance and stick to it. If the technical discussions nevertheless threaten to go beyond this focus, this can be prevented with the "out of scope cloud" (Figure 2). It can be used to record aspects outside the focus in the LIF map. In this way, it is always clear in the discussion that this area exists, but that it is not discussed in the map that is currently being created.

When analyzing the PEP with the help of submodels, two essential aspects of observation arise, on the one hand the development of the submodel itself (i.e. what happens within the drawn rectangles) and on the other hand the interaction between the submodels over the time course of the PEP. LIF maps show the second aspect, the interaction between submodels. The first aspect is investigated using other Do(PLM)Con diagrams and is not the subject of this article. To represent the interaction of submodels, the LIF map uses different connecting lines (lines, arrows, dashed arrows, etc.) and transition symbols assigned to them. The connecting lines describe how the information is related or set to each other (Figure 2, linkage vs. derivation). The transition symbolism shows how the linkage is organized. For example, the transition symbols shown in Figure 2 mean that the link between the models is maintained by a responsible person and that semantic integration of the data is performed at that point. How exactly this is done can be analyzed in detail e.g. with the help of the PLM-ML Semantic Map. For further symbols, please refer to the example described below.

4. delimitation of submodels

An important aspect of lifecycle mapping is the identification and appropriate delineation of the relevant submodels. This is considered in more detail below. In LIF maps, the living submodels relevant for the observation, i.e., specifically submodel instances, are drawn in. One submodel instance is e.g. the product structure with geometric CAD data of product A (see Figure 3, the submodel instance geometric model product A), another would be e.g. that of product B. For the instance there is, as in computer science, the submodel type, i.e. "product structure with CAD data". It should be noted that the terms instance and type cannot be used for submodels of the PEP with the uniqueness that is usual in computer science.

The delineation of submodels is similar to the delineation of suboperations in assembly. A sub-operation is formed in a granularity that is sufficient for the analysis case. If in the course of planning the necessity is recognized to delimit the sub-operation more finely granular, this can be done without any problems. Planning starts, for example, with the sub-operation fastening screws. If necessary, this can be detailed to the sub-operations pick up screw, pick up wrench, apply wrench, etc.

The procedure for delimiting submodels is analogous. In the first step of an analysis, the product structures living in the existing IT systems can be assumed as submodels (Fig. 3, the three models on the left). If it becomes apparent during modeling that a structure assumed to be a submodel contains several relevant submodels that should be considered separately, a separate rectangle can be modeled in the LIF map for each one.

Delimitation of submodels

Figure 3: Delimitation of submodelsFor understanding, some concrete examples: So-called baselines are often derived from product structures over the time course of the PDP. A baseline freezes a temporal state of the structure. Depending on the modeling case, the baseline can be seen as an integrated part of the "product structure" submodel or as a separate "baseline" submodel. A second example is variant options. These are often maintained in IT systems on logistical product structures. This gives the impression that a "product structure incl. variant options" submodel exists. However, this is not the case. From a total set of possible options, the product structure instance contains the valid ones in its context. Therefore, a submodel "Total set of options" must exist. The options contained in the product structure are therefore extracted from the "total set" submodel as a subset and are then introduced into the product structure, for example, as a copy or link.

The delimitation of submodels sounds difficult in the theoretical description. However, practical experience shows that the delimitation can be carried out easily, almost intuitively. This is because the submodels are abstractions of what those involved in the PDP work with on a daily basis. The guideline mentioned in Figure 3 is helpful for the delimitation: The information in a submodel is coherent in terms of content, has a strong connectivity and has a similar time behavior.

5. creation of a lifecycle map for requirements management

The following is an example of a LIF map for the use case "exchange of specifications" (see Figure 4, detail A-F). This use case often takes place between OEM and Tier 1 supplier. Shown is the planned future state. The OEM's requirements (Figure 4) are handed over by the OEM to the Tier 1 Supplier (Figure 4, Detail A). The handover takes place via an electronic document and is handled manually mostly via e-mail with advance notice by telephone. This is the OEM's requirement. How the OEM manages its requirements internally is not relevant for consideration and is therefore marked with the out of scope cloud. In order to be able to manage the requirements in their current state, they are entered and managed in a separate submodel at the tier 1 supplier (Figure 4, Customer requirements). This involves a transformation of the electronic document into the format of the data management system used by the supplier, which is handled by an employee (Fig. 4, Detail A transition symbol). The customer requirements are now evaluated by the Tier 1 Supplier. The assessment is done in a separate model that evolves in parallel over time and is linked to the customer requirements model (Figure 4, Annotated Customer Requirements). It contains the Tier 1 Supplier's assessment and comments on the OEM's customer requirements. It also checks whether customer requirements have already been met by other products from the supplier's portfolio. For this purpose, the commented customer requirements are linked with internally defined requirements of comparable products of the supplier in order to identify the requirements for which solutions are already available (Fig. 4, detail B).

 

The lifecycle maps of the use case "exchange of specifications

Figure 4: The lifecycle maps of the use case "exchange of specifications 

At previously determined times, subsets of the commented customer requirements are fed back to the OEM (Figure 4, event on timeline "Send response to OEM"). The symbolism can be read as follows (Figure 4, Symbols at arrow in detail C): The "subset symbol" represents the selection of a subset of the requests to be routed out. The "gear symbol" indicates that this is done automatically by the IT system. The "square to triangle" symbol represents a conversion of the data, and the "written paper" symbol defines that it is a standard readable format. The OEM takes the comments, adjusts its requirements if necessary, and sends back these adjusted requirements as well as any new requirements that may have arisen (Fig. 4, detail D). The procedure is analogous to the initial transfer of the requirements. The process described above is repeated several times until the requirements discussions have reached a level of maturity at which they can be released and coordinated requirements are thus available.

Once this is done, contract negotiations can be conducted. These are merely noted in the LIF map. If these lead to a customer project order, the agreed requirements are released and assigned a release status (Figure 4, Detail E). The requirements are subsequently transferred to the Project Requirements model, which contains the requirements that are valid for the project. This is where change management comes in. This is handled by a submodel in which all changes are recorded. If the OEM makes changes to the requirements, these are incorporated into the project by means of a formal change request. The changes and their effects are recorded in detail in the change model and linked to the requirements affected by the change in the requirements model.

 

6 Conclusion and outlook

LIF maps provide a simple language that makes it possible for the first time to discuss operational information development in the PEP. All persons involved in the PDP can understand this language with a little practice without special IT knowledge. With LIF maps, organizational aspects and specific lifecycle behavior can be formulated even before a PLM introduction, which in conventional PLM introductions only become apparent during the ramp-up of the already introduced PLM system. This makes it possible to conduct a genuine optimization discussion with both the executing specialist departments, the IT departments and the system provider.

The example shown is a concept of a Future State that the company in question wants to implement by means of a PLM system. For the implementation, the Do(PLM)Con provides further maps that enable the transition from the LIF map to a detailed IT concept.

Source

  • Fischer, Jörg W.; Rebel, Martin; Lammel, Bernhard; Gruber, Jürgen: Systematic Optimization of the Product Development Process with PLM-ML. In: ProduktDatenJournal, Darmstadt, 19(2013)1, pp.58-62.
  • Fischer, Jörg W.; Lammel, Bernhard; Hosenfeld, Dirk; Bawachkar, Deodatt; Brinkmeier, Bernd: Do(PLM)Con: An Instrument for Systematic Design of Integrated PLM Architectures. In: Smart Product Engineering. Eds: Abramovci, Michael; Stark, Rainer. Heidelberg: Springer 2013. pp. 211-220 (Lecture Notes in Production Engineering, Volume 5.).
  • Fischer, J.W., Brinkmeier, B.: Do(PLM)Con - Proposal of a taxonomy for the development of PLM-Architectures. In: ProductDataJournal, (2012)1, pp. 24-28.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More articles

Can PLM & ERP be solved at all? Prof. Dr. Jörg Fischer and Prof. Dr. Martin Eigner are convinced that the solution for PLM & ERP...
MBOM as the steering wheel of the digital supply chain and the comeback of MRP 2. Sounds interesting? Read what Prof. Jörg Fischer thinks about it....

Lifecycle Mapping – PLM verstehen und gestalten

Lifecycle Mapping – PLM verstehen und gestalten

Die Gestaltung der Informationsentwicklung im Produktentstehungsprozess (PEP) muss als eine wesentliche Organisationsaufgabe angesehen werden. Sie erledigt sich nicht durch die Einführung von IT-Lösungen. Sie muss an sich gestaltet werden. Dies gelingt nur, wenn Unternehmen beginnen, ihre gewachsene Informationsentwicklung im PEP dem Lean Management Gedanken folgend zu organisieren. Mit dem Lifecycle Mapping der Do(PLM)Con Methode existiert jetzt ein dem Wertstromdesign ähnliches Werkzeug das eine Gestaltung der operativen Informationsentwicklung ermöglicht.

Lifecycle Mapping – PLM verstehen und gestalten – gezeigt an einem Praxisbeispiel des Anforderungsmanagements

1. Warum die Informationsentwicklung im PEP gestaltet werden muss

Die Gestaltung schlanker Produktionssysteme und Optimierung globaler Lieferketten zur Steigerung der Produktivität ist heute Kern jeder Unternehmensstrategie. Der Fokus der Optimierung wendet sich zunehmend dem Produktentstehungsprozess zu, da die Erkenntnis wächst, dass dessen geeignete Gestaltung eine zentrale Voraussetzung ist, um auch zukünftig erfolgreich am Markt zu agieren.

Durch die drastischen Veränderungen der Produktentstehung wird dies aktuell immer dringlicher. Zum einen werden Produkte durch Integration intelligenter Komponenten und steigender Variantenvielfalt komplexer, zum anderen nehmen die simultan durchzuführenden Tätigkeiten in der Produktentstehung durch Vorverlagerung von Aufgabenbereichen zu. Viele der heute in frühen Entwicklungsphasen stattfindenden Tätigkeiten wurden vor wenigen Jahren später in der Entwicklung mit physikalischen Prototypen durchgeführt. Wo früher Modelle mit Hilfe von Zeichnungen auf Papier erstellt wurden, werden heute Modelle in IT-Applikationen modelliert (z.B. CAx, Digitale Fabrik, Systems Engineering etc.). Aktuell erleben wir eine geradezu explosionsartige Zunahme der verwendeten, modellbasierten Applikationen im PEP (siehe Bild 1).

Da alle im PEP erstellten Modelle Abstraktionen der zu entwickelnden Produkten sind, haben sie vielfältige Redundanzen. Weil Modelle im Zeitverlauf des PEP häufig simultan erstellt werden, entstehen Wechselwirkungen zwischen den Modellen, so dass ihre Informationen kontinuierlich abgeglichen werden müssen.

Dies ist den meisten Akteuren im PEP nicht bewusst. Oft erfolgt – wenn die daraus resultierenden Probleme zu groß werden – der Ruf nach neuen, noch mächtigeren Modellen, die dann zusätzlich zu handhaben sind. In der Folge wird der PEP noch komplexer.

Die Modellexplosion im Produktentstehungsprozess

Bild 1:   Die Modellexplosion im ProduktentstehungsprozessDie aktuelle Situation rund um PEP und PLM ist vergleichbar mit der Diskussion im Produktionsmanagement Anfang der 80’er Jahre des letzten Jahrhunderts. Die Automatisierung hatte sich weitgehend durchgesetzt. Auf dieser Basis konnte sich dann die Diskussion um Lean Management entwickeln. Nachdem durch erfolgreiche Einführung von PLM-Komponenten viele Routineprozesse des PEP heute erfolgreich automatisiert wurden, wächst auch in der PLM Diskussion die Überzeugung, dass eine konsequente Gestaltung der Informationsentwicklung im PEP ein nächster Schritt zum Erfolg von PLM sein wird.

2. Die Idee des Lifecycle Mappings

Lifecycle Mapping nahm seinen Ursprung in Diskussionen erfahrener PLM Solution Architekten. Bei den von ihnen betrachteten Anwendungsfällen verschiedener Branchen und Unternehmen zeigte sich, dass das operative Zusammenwirken der Produktinformationen in der Vergangenheit nicht diskutiert wurde. Aus diesem Grund werden bei der Planung von PLM-Projekten wesentliche Aspekte oft nicht berücksichtigt. Dies gefährdet mitunter PLM-Projekte, da das gemeinsame Verständnis von Anbieter, Projektteam und den Endanwendern nicht geschaffen wird.

Lifecycle Mapping ermöglicht es, die operative Informationsentwicklung im PEP zu analysieren. Fokus der Modellierung liegt dabei auf den tatsächlich in den IT-Systemen lebenden Modelle des PEP’s. Um die Modellierung einfach zu machen, setzt Lifecycle Mapping auf eine IT-neutrale Symbolik, die der Denkweise des Wertstromdesign verwandt ist.

Mit Hilfe von Lifecycle Maps (LIF-Map’s) können Landkarten des PEP dargestellt werden. Diese dienen als zentrales Kommunikations- und Optimierungsinstrument in PLM-Projekten und tragen wesentlich dazu bei „über das gleiche zu sprechen“.

3. Lifecycle Maps erstellen

In der Anwendung werden LIF-Map`s vom vorliegenden Current State sowie einem oder mehreren zu entwickelnden Future States angefertigt. In PLM-Projekten hat es sich als geeignet erwiesen, gemeinsam mit allen Beteiligten zum Start des Projekts die LIF-Map des Current State zu entwickeln und sich die Zeit zu nehmen, diese ausführlich zu besprechen. Dadurch entsteht ein gemeinsames Verständnis, was im PEP  geschieht. In einer weiteren Diskussion können in der Current State LIF-Map Bereiche mit Optimierungspotenzial eingezeichnet werden. Ist dies erfolgt, werden mögliche Optimierungsszenarien anhand von Future States LIF-Map’s entwickelt.

Lifecycle Map eines einfachen Current State

Bild 2: Lifecycle Map eines einfachen Current StateNachfolgend wird das Vorgehen beim Lifecycle Mapping am Beispiel eines einfachen Current State erläutert (Bild 2). Basis der Lifecycle Map ist die Zeitachse. Auf ihr werden die für die Betrachtung, wesentlichen Meilensteine des PEP’s notiert. Im nächsten Schritt werden die lebenden Teilmodelle als Rechtecke in die LIF-Map eingezeichnet. Hier ist es sinnvoll, sich auf Teilmodelle eines Produkts bzw. einer Produktfamilie zu konzentrieren. Die Rechtecke beginnen zu dem Zeitpunkt, an dem sie im PEP erstmalig initiiert werden. Ihre Länge über den Zeitstrahl symbolisiert ihre zeitliche Entwicklung. Strenggenommen endet ein Teilmodell nicht, da die Daten über den Produktentstehungsprozess hinaus vorgehalten und auch „fertige“ Teilmodelle oft zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt noch geändert werden. Das Rechteck in der Lifecycle Map endet daher zu dem Zeitpunkt, an dem die Arbeit am Teilmodell im Wesentlichen abgeschlossen ist. Falls es notwendig ist, den Aspekt des „Weiterlebens“ darzustellen, wird ein verkleinertes, gefülltes Rechteck und/oder eine über den Zeitstrahl weiterführende Linie verwendet. Die geringere Breite steht für die geringere Arbeitsintensität am Teilmodell (Bild 2, Darstellung der Modellierungsintensität). Bei der Analyse von LIF-Map’s ist es wichtig, vorab einen Fokus zu definieren und diesen einzuhalten. Droht die Fachdiskussionen dennoch über diesen Fokus hinauszugehen, kann dies mit der „Out of Scope-Wolke“ (Bild 2) verhindert werden. Mit ihr lassen sich Aspekte außerhalb des Fokus in der LIF-Map verzeichnen. Damit ist in der Diskussion jederzeit klar, dass es diesen Bereich gibt, er aber nicht in der aktuell zu erstellenden Landkarte mitdiskutiert wird.

Bei der Analyse des PEP mit Hilfe von Teilmodellen ergeben sich zwei wesentliche Betrachtungsaspekte, zum einen die Entwicklung des Teilmodells an sich (d.h. was innerhalb der gezeichneten Rechtecke geschieht) und zum andern die Interaktion zwischen den Teilmodellen über den zeitlichen Verlauf des PEP. LIF-Map`s bilden den zweiten Aspekt, die Interaktion zwischen Teilmodellen ab. Der erste Aspekt wird mit Hilfe anderer Do(PLM)Con Diagramme untersucht und ist nicht Gegenstand dieses Artikels. Zur Darstellung der Interaktion von Teilmodellen werden in der LIF-Map unterschiedliche Verbindungslinien (Linien, Pfeile, gestrichelte Pfeile etc.) sowie diesen zugeordnete Übergangssymboliken genutzt. Die Verbindungslinien beschreiben, wie die Informationen zueinander in Beziehung stehen bzw. gesetzt werden (Bild 2, Verknüpfung vs. Ausleitung). Die Übergangssymbolik zeigt, wie die Verknüpfung organisiert wird. Die in Bild 2 dargestellten Übergangssymbole bedeuten beispielweise, dass die Verbindung zwischen den Modellen von einer verantwortlichen Person aufrechterhalten wird und dass an der Stelle eine semantische Integration der Daten durchgeführt wird. Wie dies genau geschieht kann z.B. mit Hilfe der PLM-ML Semantic Map im Detail analysiert werden. Für weitere Symboliken sei auf das unten beschriebene Beispiel verwiesen.

4. Abgrenzung von Teilmodellen

Ein wichtiger Aspekt beim Lifecycle Mapping ist die Identifikation und geeignete Abgrenzung der relevanten Teilmodelle. Nachfolgend wird diese näher betrachtet. In LIF-Map`s werden die für die Betrachtung relevanten lebenden Teilmodelle, d.h. konkret Teilmodellinstanzen eingezeichnet. Eine Teilmodellinstanz ist z.B. die Produktstruktur mit geometrischen CAD-Daten des Produkts A (siehe Bild 3, die Teilmodellinstanz Geometriemodell Produkt A), eine weitere wäre z.B. die des Produkts B. Zur Instanz gibt es wie in der Informatik den Teilmodelltyp, also „Produktstruktur mit CAD Daten“. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass sich die Begriffe Instanz und Typ bei Teilmodellen des PEP nicht in der Eindeutigkeit verwenden lassen, die in der Informatik üblich ist.

Die Abgrenzung von Teilmodellen ist der Abgrenzung von Teilvorgängen in der Montage ähnlich. Ein Teilvorgang wird in einer für den Analysefall hinreichenden Granularität gebildet. Wird im Verlauf der Planung die Notwendigkeit erkannt, den Teilvorgang feingranularer abzugrenzen, kann dies problemlos erfolgen. Die Planung beginnt z.B.  mit dem Teilvorgang Schraube befestigen. Dieser kann -falls notwendig- zu den Teilvorgängen Schraube aufnehmen, Schraubenschlüssel nehmen, Schraubenschlüssel ansetzen etc. detailliert werden.

Analog ist das Vorgehen bei der Abgrenzung von Teilmodellen. Im ersten Schritt einer Analyse können als Teilmodelle die in den vorhandenen IT-Systemen lebenden Produktstrukturen angenommen werden (Bild 3, die drei Modelle auf der linken Seite). Zeigt sich während der Modellierung, dass eine als Teilmodell angenommene Struktur mehrere relevante Teilmodelle enthält, die getrennt betrachtet werden sollten, kann für jedes ein eigenes Rechteck in der LIF-Map modelliert werden.

Abgrenzung von Teilmodellen

Bild 3:   Abgrenzung von TeilmodellenZum Verständnis einige konkrete Beispiele: Über den Zeitverlauf des PEP werden von Produktstrukturen oft sog. Baselines abgeleitet. Eine Baseline friert einen zeitlichen Zustand der Struktur ein. Je nach Modellierungsfall kann die Baseline als integrierter Bestandteil des Teilmodells „Produktstruktur“ oder als eigenes Teilmodell „Baseline“ gesehen werden. Ein zweites Beispiel sind Variantenoptionen. Oft werden diese in IT-Systemen an logistischen Produktstrukturen gepflegt. Es entsteht dann der Eindruck, es läge ein Teilmodell „Produktstruktur incl. Variantenoptionen“ vor. Dies ist jedoch nicht der Fall. Die Produktstrukturinstanz enthält aus einer Gesamtmenge von möglichen Optionen die in ihrem Kontext gültigen. Es muss also ein Teilmodell „Gesamtmenge an Optionen“ existieren. Die in der Produktstruktur enthaltenen Optionen sind demnach aus dem Teilmodell „Gesamtmenge“ als Teilmenge extrahiert und werden dann z.B. als Kopie oder Link in die Produktstruktur eingebracht.

Die Abgrenzung von Teilmodellen klingt in der theoretischen Beschreibung schwierig. Die praktische Erfahrung zeigt jedoch, dass die Abgrenzung einfach, fast intuitiv ausgeführt werden kann. Das liegt daran, dass die Teilmodelle Abstraktionen dessen sind, womit die am PEP Beteiligten täglich arbeiten. Hilfreich zur Abgrenzung ist die in Bild 3 genannte Leitlinie: Die Informationen in einem Teilmodell sind inhaltlich zusammenhängend, besitzen eine starke Konnektivität und haben ein ähnliches Zeitverhalten.

5. Erstellung einer Lifecycle Map für das Anforderungsmanagement

Nachfolgend wird beispielhaft eine LIF-Map für den Use Case „Lastenheft Austausch“ erläutert (siehe Bild 4, Detail A-F). Dieser Use Case findet häufig zwischen OEM und Tier 1 Supplier statt. Abgebildet ist der geplante Future State. Die Anforderungen des OEM (Bild 4) werden vom OEM an den Tier 1 Supplier übergeben (Bild 4, Detail A). Die Übergabe erfolgt durch ein elektronisches Dokument und wird manuell zumeist über E-Mail mit Vorankündigung per Telefon abgewickelt. Dies ist Vorgabe des OEM’s. Wie das OEM seine Anforderungen intern verwaltet, ist für die Betrachtung nicht relevant und daher mit der Out of Scope Wolke gekennzeichnet. Um die gestellten Anforderungen im jeweils gültigen Stand verwalten zu können, werden sie beim Tier 1 Supplier in einem eigenen Teilmodell eingepflegt und verwaltetet (Bild 4, Kundenanforderungen). Dabei findet eine Transformation des elektronischen Dokuments in das Format des beim Supplier verwendeten Datenmanagementsystems statt, die von einem Mitarbeiter abgewickelt wird (Bild 4, Detail A Überganssymbolik). Die Kundenanforderungen werden nun vom Tier 1 Supplier bewertet. Die Bewertung wird in einem getrennten, sich im Zeitverlauf parallel entwickelnden Modell vorgenommen, das mit dem Kundenanforderungsmodell verlinkt wird (Bild 4, Kommentierte Kundenanforderungen). Es enthält die Bewertung und Kommentare des Tier 1 Supplier zu den Kundenanforderungen des OEM. Es wird auch geprüft ob Kundenanforderungen bereits von anderen Produkten aus dem Portfolio des Suppliers erfüllt wurden. Dazu werden die kommentierten Kundenanforderungen mit intern definierten Anforderungen vergleichbarer Produkte des Supplier vernetzt, um damit die Anforderungen zu kennzeichnen, für die bereits Lösungen vorliegen (Bild 4, Detail B).

 

Die Lifecycle Maps des Use Case "Lastenheftaustausch"

Bild 4: Die Lifecycle Maps des Use Case „Lastenheftaustausch“ 

Zu zuvor bestimmten Zeitpunkten werden Teilmengen der kommentierten Kundenanforderungen an den OEM zurückgespielt (Bild 4, Event auf Zeitleiste „Antwort an OEM senden“). Die Symbolik ist folgendermaßen zu lesen (Bild 4, Symbole am Pfeil im Detail C): Das „Teilmengensymbol“ steht für die Auswahl einer Teilmenge der Anforderungen, die auszuleiten sind. Das „Zahnrad-Symbol“ deutet an, dass dies automatisiert durch das IT-System geschieht. Das Symbol „Quadrat zu Dreieck“ steht für eine Konvertierung der Daten, das Symbol „beschriebenes Papier“ definiert, dass es sich um ein lesbares Standardformat handelt. Das OEM nimmt die Kommentare auf, passt ggf. seine Anforderungen an und sendet diese angepassten sowie ggf. neu entstandenen Anforderungen zurück (Bild 4, Detail D). Das Vorgehen ist analog der initialen Übergabe der Anforderungen. Der beschriebene Ablauf wiederholt sich mehrfach bis die Anforderungsdiskussionen einen Reifegrad erhalten haben, an dem sie freigegeben werden können und damit abgestimmte Anforderungen vorliegen.

Ist dies geschehen, können Vertragsverhandlungen geführt werden. Diese sind in der LIF-Map lediglich vermerkt. Führen diese zu einem Kundenprojektauftrag, werden die abgestimmten Anforderungen freigegeben und mit einem Freigabestatus versehen (Bild 4, Detail E). Die Anforderungen gehen in der Folge in das Modell Projektanforderungen über, welches die für das Projekt gültigen Anforderungen enthält. An dieser Stelle setzt das Änderungsmanagement ein. Dies wird durch ein Teilmodell abgewickelt, in dem alle Änderungen verzeichnet sind. Gibt es nun Änderungéb der Anforderung seitens des OEM’s, werden diese über einen formalen Änderungsantrag ins Projekt aufgenommen. Die Änderungen und deren Auswirkungen werden dabei im Änderungsmodell detailliert protokolliert und mit den von der Änderung betroffenen Anforderungen im Anforderungsmodell verknüpft.

 

6         Fazit und Ausblick

LIF-Maps stellen eine einfache Sprache bereit, die es erstmals ermöglicht, über die operative Informationsentwicklung im PEP diskutieren zu können. Alle am PEP beteiligten Personen können diese Sprache mit etwas Übung ohne besondere IT-Kenntnisse verstehen. Mit LIF-Maps können bereits vor einer PLM Einführung organisatorische Aspekte und spezifisches Lebenszyklusverhalten formuliert werden, die sich bei herkömmlichen PLM-Einführung erst beim RampUp des bereits eingeführten PLM-Systems zeigen. Damit wird es möglich, eine echte Optimierungsdiskussion sowohl mit den ausführenden Fachabteilungen, den IT-Abteilungen sowie dem Systemanbieter zu führen.

Das gezeigte Beispiel ist ein Konzept eines Future State, den das betreffende Unternehmen mittels eines PLM-Systems implementieren möchte. Für die Implementierung stellt die Do(PLM)Con weitere Landkarten zur Verfügung, die den Übergang von der LIF-Map zu einem detaillierten IT-Konzept ermöglichen.

Quellenangabe

  • Fischer, Jörg W.; Rebel, Martin; Lammel, Bernhard; Gruber, Jürgen: Systematische Optimierung des Produktentwicklungsprozesses mit PLM-ML. In: ProduktDatenJournal, Darmstadt, 19(2013)1, S.58-62.
  • Fischer, Jörg W.; Lammel, Bernhard; Hosenfeld, Dirk; Bawachkar, Deodatt; Brinkmeier, Bernd: Do(PLM)Con: An Instrument for Systematic Design of Integrated PLM-Architectures. In: Smart Product Engineering. Hrsg.: Abramovci, Michael; Stark, Rainer. Heidelberg: Springer 2013. S. 211-220 (Lecture Notes in Production Engineering, Volume 5.)
  • Fischer, J.W., Brinkmeier, B.: Do(PLM)Con – Proposal of a taxonomy for the development of PLM-Architectures. In: ProductDataJournal, (2012)1, S. 24-28

 

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Weitere Artikel

Im Beitrag werden Bezeichnungen und Kategorisierungen von Stücklisten (BOMs) sowie das RIM-360°-Multi-Structure-Model vorgestellt....