Digital Supply Chain MBOM MRP

Digital Supply Chain MRP MBOM

MBOM as the steering wheel of the digital supply chain and the comeback of MRP 2. Sounds interesting? Read what Prof. Jörg Fischer thinks about it.
LinkedIn post 1

Digital Supply Chain, the comeback of Manufacturing Resources Planning MRP 2 - and why (exclusive) stocks are sexy again

Stocks = waste = muda. Muda must be avoided. Is that still up to date? 🤔

Muda, the credo of lean management, demonizes inventories. Now Littel's law has been added to the mix. I remember when Prof. Arnold from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) even equated lead time and inventories in a logistics lecture on the basis of Little's law.

Well, I think that is no longer up to date. But let's start from the beginning: First of all, you have to differentiate between inventories that drive throughput times and inventories that do not. How do you do that? Quite simply: Stocks at the sheet level of your M(RP)-BOM do not drive throughput time! Do you have any questions? I'll be happy to answer them in the comments. 

Let's get to the real point. Why are some stocks sexy (just like in my picture 😏)? Since corona and the resulting fragile supply chains, this realization has been gaining momentum. When supply chains no longer flow, but instead falter more often, we have to react.

The answers include:

👉 Exclusive Stocks

This means that we sort the dependent requirements according to availability classes - a fundamental extension of previous ABC/XYZ categorization approaches.

👉 Alternatives and local sourcing

This means considering alternative parts and manufacturing processes that are also available in local markets in particular.

This can be controlled from the (ERP-related) PLM. What is important here is that Paradigm 1 (Object Type Cascade) of ERP-related PLM to consider. ERP PLM Supply Chain.

We at RIM have developed a series of concepts that help you to categorize your inventories accordingly based on AI (RIM availability classes) and to align the product structures and control, i.e. Manufacturing Resources Planning (MRP2), of the digital supply chain accordingly.

Well, and the post picture? - Fun fact: This is how I explain the problem of stocks in more detail in the lecture. In the picture, we see a WG that has invested in exclusive stocks. They tie up capital and liquidity (which can be seen) and take up storage space, which also costs money. Well, since beer consumption in student flatshares often shows clear Z-behavior, it is an interesting logistical approach, as shown in the picture - assuming a long delivery time.

MBOM vs MRPBOM
LinkedIn post 2

M-BOM vs. M(RP)-BOM - Let's resolve the confusion.

One of the increasingly visible misunderstandings in the industry is the confusion between M-BOM and M(RP)-BOM.

Let's clarify that:

M-BOM

The MBOM provides information. You can see it like a teacher. It is set up to define assembly drawings and assembly sequences, for example. It has its origins in the digital factory, more specifically in Body in White planning, where it was necessary to provide 3D geometry for offline simulation. I was there myself, for example, as it slowly migrated from Tecnomatix Process Planner to Teamcenter.

M(RP)-BOM

The M(RP)-BOM controls, indeed commands, the supply chain. You can see it as a general. It has its origin in the ERP. The MRP run runs through it! The control of the supply chain depends on its structure and attribution, as does the ability to carry out post-calculation.

Well, the two sometimes have similar structural semantics, especially if you limit yourself to one work.

Due to the current economic situation, there is now a need to massively improve the ability to control the supply chain. This has a structural impact on the M(RP)-BOM and its semantics will move much further away from the MBOM than before!

We at RIM are currently experiencing how attempts to link the MBOM in PLM directly with the M(RP)-BOM are failing. The situation is even worse when this approach is implemented, but the performance of the supply chain gradually deteriorates as a result and those involved wonder why this is the case.

Where do you stand with this topic in your projects?

If you are not sure - then we have our RIM M(RP)-BOM Health Check for you. We can tell you precisely whether your M(RP)-BOM has the ability to control your supply chain effectively and whether it is even possible to directly link your MBOM in PLM with the M(RP)-BOM.

MBOM DSC
LinkedIn post 3

Did you know? The MBOM is the Steering Wheel of the Digital Supply Chain!

I believe that many people working in PLM today do not have a complete understanding of what the MBOM's role actually is.

Well, at least that's how I felt when I was still very PLM centric and didn't deal much with the downstream processes in ERP.

At the time, I believed that the MBOM was just the EBOM, only rearranged. So in assembly order. Okay, maybe different for one movement or another, but otherwise?

This view is not wrong in itself. However, it has a massive blind spot!

The MBOM has a much more important task! It is the steering wheel for the digital supply chain!!! 

This aspect has become particularly clear in recent times and I am currently experiencing it more and more frequently and clearly in advisory situations.

Why is this the case? Why is supply chain management capability and therefore MBOM so important?

Today, companies are faced with issues such as reacting quickly to individual customer requirements, building resilient supply chains, sustainability, coping with ever stricter regional regulations and much more.

The central enabler of these topics is the flexible controllability of the digital supply chain in the plant network!

The control is realized via suitable structuring, the control of disposition levels, the short-term exchange of material (precisely controlled double sourcing) in the M(RP)-Bom as well as the attribution of BOM items and material attribution.

Short reaction times are the key here. The changes must be implemented precisely via the plant network for each customer order and often at short notice just before the production order is instantiated and released.

From a sustainability perspective, it is necessary, for example, to control supply chain routes that currently have a good CO2 footprint. From the perspective of regional regulations, it must be possible to control whether sourcing is currently permitted for this region.

As you can see, the aspect of MBOM or M(RP)-BOM as the steering wheel of the supply chain is coming to the fore.

It is important to understand that in the classic PLM processes where MBOM is often located in many discussions today, the necessary information, knowledge and responsibility for the supply chain are not given.

One more reason to manage MBOM close to the ERP or supply chain.

I am increasingly surprised why the big ERP vendors are obviously overlooking this topic and not actively placing it. It's a bit like providing a Formula 1 car and leaving the steering wheel in the box.

What do you think?

And if you want to know exactly how you can manage your supply chain with MBOM, get in touch with us at RIM today 👉 Contact STZ-RIM now - here are your options

#SupplyChainManagement #DigitalTransformation #Sustainability #PLM #MBOM #Manufacturing #BusinessStrategy #Innovation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More articles

Can PLM & ERP be solved at all? Prof. Dr. Jörg Fischer and Prof. Dr. Martin Eigner are convinced that the solution for PLM & ERP...
MBOM as the steering wheel of the digital supply chain and the comeback of MRP 2. Sounds interesting? Read what Prof. Jörg Fischer thinks about it....

Digital Supply Chain MBOM MRP

Digital Supply Chain MRP MBOM

MBOM als Steuerrrad der Digital Supply Chain und das Comeback von MRP 2. Klingt interessant? Lesen Sie was Prof. Jörg Fischer darüber denkt.
LinkedIn-Post 1

Digital Supply Chain, the comeback of Manufacturing Resources Planning MRP 2 – and why (exclusive) stocks are sexy again

Bestände = Verschwendung = Muda. Muda muss vermieden werden. Ist das noch zeitgemäß? 🤔

Muda, das Credo aus dem Lean Management, verteufelt Bestände. Nun kommt auch noch Littels Gesetz dazu. Ich erinnere mich, als Prof. Arnold vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) in einer Logistikvorlesung aufgrund von Littles Gesetz Durchlaufzeit und Bestände sogar gleichgesetzt hat.

Nun, ich denke, das ist nicht mehr zeitgemäß. Aber von vorne: Zuallererst muss man durchlaufzeittreibende Bestände von nicht durchlaufzeittreibenden Beständen unterscheiden. Wie man das tut? Ganz einfach: Bestände auf der Blattebene eurer M(RP)-BOM sind nicht durchlaufzeittreibend! Habt ihr Fragen dazu? Diese beantworte ich gerne in den Kommentaren. 

Kommen wir zum eigentlichen Punkt. Warum sind manche Bestände sexy (ganz so wie in meinem Bild 😏)? Seit Corona und den daraus resultierenden fragilen Lieferketten dringt diese Erkenntnis ins Bewusstsein. Wenn Lieferketten nicht mehr fließen, sondern öfter stocken, muss reagiert werden.

Die Antwort sind u.a.:

👉 Exclusive Stocks

Das heißt, wir sortieren den Sekundärbedarf nach Verfügbarkeitsklassen – eine grundlegende Erweiterung von bisherigen Ansätzen der ABC/XYZ-Kategorisierung.

👉 Alternatives und Local Sourcing

Das heißt, die Berücksichtigung von alternativen Teilen und Herstellverfahren, die insbesondere auch in lokalen Märkten verfügbar sind.

Gesteuert kann dies aus dem (ERP-nahen) PLM gesteuert werden. Wichtig dabei ist, das Paradigma 1 (Object Type Cascade) des ERP-nahen PLM zu berücksichtigen. ERP PLM Supply Chain.

Wir vom RIM haben hier eine Reihe von Konzepten entwickelt, die euch helfen, eure Bestände entsprechend AI-basiert zu kategorisieren (RIM-Verfügbarkeitsklassen) sowie die Produktstrukturen sowie die Steuerung, d.h. den Manufacturing Resources Planning (MRP2), der Digital Supply Chain entsprechend auszurichten.

Nun, und das Post-Bild? – Fun Fact: So erkläre ich die Problematik der Bestände näher in der Vorlesung. Wir sehen im Bild eine WG, die in exklusive Bestände investiert hat. Sie binden Kapital und Liquidität (was zu sehen ist) und beanspruchen Lagerplatz, was auch kostet. Nun, da der Bierverbrauch in Studenten-WGs oft deutliches Z-Verhalten zeigt, ist es, wie auf dem Bild – lange Lieferzeit vorausgesetzt – ein interessanter logistischer Ansatz.

MBOM vs MRPBOM
LinkedIn-Post 2

M-BOM vs. M(RP)-BOM – Let’s resolve the confusion.

Eines der immer sichtbareren Missverständnisse in der Industrie ist die Verwechslung von M-BOM und M(RP)-BOM.

Lasst uns das klären:

M-BOM

Die MBOM vermittelt Informationen. Ihr könnt Sie sehen wie einen Lehrer. Sie wird aufgebaut um z.B. Montagezeichnungen und Montagereihenfolgen festzulegen. Ihren Ursprung hat sie in der Digitalen Fabrik, konkreter in der Body in White Planung da es dort notwendig war für die Offline Simulation 3D Geometrie bereitzustellen. Ich war selbst z.B. selbst dabei wie sie so langsam vom Process Planner von Tecnomatix in Teamcenter gewandert ist.

M(RP)-BOM

Die M(RP)-BOM steuert, ja befehligt die Supply Chain. Ihr könnt Sie als General sehen. Ihren Ursprung hat sie im ERP. Über sie läuft der MRP-Lauf! Von ihrer Struktur und Attribuierung hängt die Steuerung der Supply Chain ab sowie auch die Fähigkeit die Nachkalkulation durchzuführen.

Nun die beiden haben manchmal ähnliche Struktursemantiken, insbesondere wenn man sich auf ein Werk beschränkt.

Durch die aktuelle wirtschaftliche Situation entsteht nun die Notwendigkeit die Fähigkeit zur Steuerbarkeit der Supply Chain massiv zu verbessern. Das hat einen strukturellen Impact auf die M(RP)-BOM und sie wird in ihrer Semantik viel weiter von der MBOM abrücken als bisher!

Wir vom RIM erleben aktuell wie Versuche die MBOM im PLM direkt mit der M(RP)-BOM zu koppeln scheitert. Noch schlimmer ist die Situation wenn dieser Ansatz umgesetzt wird, jedoch die Performance der Supply Chain sich dadurch schleichend verschlechtert und die Beteiligten sich wundern warum das so ist.

Wo steht ihr in euren Projekten mit dem Thema?

Wenn ihr euch nicht sicher – dann haben wir für euch unseren RIM M(RP)-BOM Health Check. Wir können euch präzise sagen ob eure M(RP)-BOM die Fähigkeit hat eure Supply Chain effektiv zu steuern und ob es überhaupt möglich ist eure MBOM im PLM mit der M(RP)-BOM direkt zu koppeln.

MBOM DSC
LinkedIn-Post 3

Did you know? The MBOM is the Steering Wheel of the Digital Supply Chain!

Ich glaube, dass viele, die heute im PLM-Bereich tätig sind, kein vollständiges Wissen darüber haben, was die Aufgabe der MBOM eigentlich ist.

Nun, zumindest ging es mir so, als ich noch sehr PLM zentrisch fokussiert war und mich noch wenig mit den Downstreamprozessen im ERP beschäftigt habe.

Damals habe ich geglaubt, die MBOM sei eben die EBOM, nur umsortiert. Also in Montagereihenfolge. Okay ggf. mal unterschiedlich für das eine oder andere Werk aber sonst?

Falsch ist diese Sicht an sich nicht. Sie hat jedoch einen massiven blinden Fleck!

Die MBOM hat eine viel wichtigere Aufgabe! Sie ist das Steuerrad für die Digital Supply Chain!!! 

Dieser Aspekt wird in jüngster Zeit besonders deutlich und ich erlebe ihn aktuell immer häufiger und deutlicher in Beratungssituationen.

Warum ist das so? Warum wird die Supply Chain Steuerungsfähigkeit und damit die MBOM so wichtig?

Heute stehen für Unternehmen Themen an wie schnelle Reaktion auf individuelle Kundenwünsche, Aufbau resilienter Lieferketten, Sustainability, das Bewältigen immer schärferen regionale Regulationen und vieles mehr.

Der zentralen Enabler dieser Themen ist die flexibel Steuerungsfähigkeit der Digital Supply Chain im Werksverbund!

Die Steuerung wird u. A. über die geeignete Strukturierung, das einsteuern von Dispositionsstufen, der kurzfristige Austausch von Material (präzise gesteuertes Double Sourcing) in der M(RP)-Bom sowie die Attributierung von BOM Positionen und der Materialattributisierung realisiert.

Dabei ist kurze Reaktionszeit der Schlüssel. Die Änderungen müssen pro Kundenauftrag und oft auch kurzfristig knapp vor der Instanziierung und Freigabe des Fertigungsauftrag präzise über den Werksverbund eingesteuert werden.

Aus der Sustainability-Perspektive ist es z.B. notwendig, Supply Chain Routen einzusteuern, die aktuell einen guten CO2-Footprint haben. Aus Perspektive der regionalen Regulations muss gesteuert werden können, ob das Sourcing auch aktuell für diese Region erlaubt ist.

Ihr seht also, der Aspekt der MBOM bzw. M(RP)-BOM als Steering Wheel der Supply Chain rückt gerade in den Vordergrund.

Wichtig ist dabei zu verstehen, dass in den klassischen PLM Prozessen wo die MBOM heute in vielen Diskussionen oft verortet wird die notwendigen Informationen, das Wissen und die Verantwortung für die Supply Chain nicht gegeben sind.

Ein Grund mehr, die MBOM ERP-nah bzw. Supply Chain-nah zu steuern.

Hier wundert mich inzwischen immer öfters warum die großen ERP-Vendoren das Thema offensichtlich übersehen und nicht aktiv platzieren. Das ist ein wenig so wie wenn man einen Formel 1 Wagen bereitstellt und das Lenkrad in der Box lässt.

Was meint ihr dazu?

Und wenn ihr genau wissen wollt, wie ihr mit der MBOM eure Supply Chain steuert, dann meldet euch noch heute bei uns vom RIM 👉 Jetzt Kontakt zum STZ-RIM aufnehmen – hier sind Ihre Möglichkeiten

#SupplyChainManagement #DigitalTransformation #Sustainability #PLM #MBOM #Manufacturing #BusinessStrategy #Innovation

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Weitere Artikel

Ob man PLM & ERP überhaupt lösen kann? Prof. Dr. Jörg Fischer und Prof. Dr. Martin Eigner sind überzeugt, der Lösung für PLM & ERP...
MBOM als Steuerrrad der Digital Supply Chain und das Comeback von MRP 2. Klingt interessant? Lesen Sie was Prof. Jörg Fischer darüber denkt....